Turkish authorities introduce security charge for some airports

airportsThe Turkish authorities have decided to introduce from January 1st, 2019 a new security charge of 1.50 EUR and 1 EUR at some airports in the country. This measure will affect passengers arriving from abroad.

In the previously circulated General Directorate of Airports of Turkey, it was said that it intends to introduce a fee of 3 EUR per passenger. However, after negotiations held between Minister of Culture and Tourism Mehmet Ersoy and Minister of Transport and Infrastructure Mehmet Cahit Turhan, it was decided to impose a tax of 1.50 EUR and 1 EUR at various airports in Turkey.

The passengers arriving from abroad to the airports of the following cities will have to pay 1.50 EUR: Adana, Gaziantep, Kayseri, Trabzon, Hatay and Erzurum. Payments in the amount of 1 EUR will be paid at such airports as Agra, Adiyaman, Amasya Merzifon, Balikesir Koca Seyit, Batman Bingel, Bursa Yenishehir, Chanakkale, Denizli Chardak, Diyarbakir, Elazig, Erzincan, Igdyr, Diyarbakır, Elazig, Erzincan, Igdir, Elazig, Erzincan, Igdir, Konya, Malatya, Sinop, Sivas, Sanliurfa GAP, Tekirdag Chorlu, Tokat and etc.

It is also noted that only those airports that are served by the General Directorate of Turkish Airports have fallen under this decision of the authorities. The airports of such tourist destinations as Antalya, Alanya, Istanbul, Izmir and Ankara will not be subject to additional passenger fees, as they serve as the leading operator of airports in Turkey and the world, TAV.